World Database of Nematodes

Linked to the Marine Biology Section, UGent

Nemys source details

Phillips, L.M., R.I. Leihy & S.L. Chown. (2022). Improving species‐based area protection in Antarctica. Conservation Biology. 36(4): e13885.Aug 2022.
10.1111/cobi.13885 [view]
Phillips, L.M., R.I. Leihy & S.L. Chown
Improving species‐based area protection in Antarctica.
Conservation Biology
36(4): e13885.Aug 2022
Area protection is a major mechanism deployed for environmental conservation in Antarctica. Yet, the Antarctic protected areas network is widely acknowledged as inadequate, in part because the criteria for area protection south of 60°S are not fully applied. The most poorly explored of these criteria is the type locality of species, which provides the primary legal means for Antarctic species-based area protection and a method for conserving species even if little is known about their habitat or distribution. The type locality criterion has not been systematically assessed since its incorporation into the Protocol on Environmental Protection to the Antarctic Treaty in 1991, so the extent to which the criterion is being met or might be useful for area protection is largely unknown. To address the matter, we created and analyzed a comprehensive database of Antarctic type localities of terrestrial and lacustrine lichens, plants, and animals. We compiled the database via a literature search of key taxonomic and geographic terms and then analyzed the distance between type localities identifiable to a ≤ 25km2 resolution and current Antarctic Specially Protected Areas (ASPAs) and human infrastructure. We used a distance-clustering approach for localities outside current ASPAs to determine candidate protected areas that could contain these unprotected localities. Of the 386 type localities analyzed, 108 were within or overlapped current ASPAs. Inclusion of the remaining 278 type localities in the ASPA network would require the designation of a further 105 protected areas. Twenty-four of these areas included human infrastructure disturbance. Given the slow rate of ASPA designation, growing pace of human impacts on the continent, and the management burden associated with ASPAs, we propose ways in which the type locality criterion might best be deployed. These include a comprehensive, systematic conservation planning approach and an alternative emphasis on the habitat of species, rather than on a single locality.
RIS (EndNote, Reference Manager, ProCite, RefWorks)
BibTex (BibDesk, LaTeX)
2022-08-01 13:49:12Z
2023-04-03 13:43:15Z

Acrobeloides arctowskii Holovachov & Boström, 2006 (additional source)
Aglenchus agricola (de Man, 1884) Andrássy, 1954 (additional source)
Amblydorylaimus isokaryon (Loof, 1975) Andrássy, 1998 (additional source)
Antarctenchus hooperi Spaull, 1972 (additional source)
Antarctenchus motililus Ghosh, Chatterjee, Mitra & De, 2005 (additional source)
Aphelenchoides baguei Maslen, 1979 (additional source)
Aphelenchoides vaughani Maslen, 1979 (additional source)
Apratylenchoides joenssoni Ryss, Boström & Sohlenius, 2005 (additional source)
Calcaridorylaimus signatus (Loof, 1975) Andrássy, 1986 (additional source)
Chiloplacoides antarcticus Heyns, 1994 (additional source)
Chiloplectus masleni Boström, 1997 (additional source)
Coomansus gerlachei (de Man, 1904) Jairajpuri & Khan, 1977 (additional source)
Cuticularia firmata Andrássy, 1998 accepted as Poikilolaimus firmatus (Andrássy, 1998) Sudhaus, 2011 (additional source)
Ditylenchus parcevivens Andrássy, 1988 (additional source)
Dolichorhabditis tereticorpus Kito & Ohyama, 2008 accepted as Oscheius tereticorpus (Kito & Ohyama, 2008) Sudhaus, 2011 (additional source)
Enchodeloides signyensis (Loof, 1975) Elshishka, Lazarova, Radoslavov, Hristov & Peneva, 2017 (additional source)
Eudorylaimus antarcticus (Steiner, 1916) Yeates, 1970 (additional source)
Eudorylaimus coniceps Loof, 1975 (additional source)
Eudorylaimus glacialis Andrássy, 1998 (additional source)
Eudorylaimus nudicaudatus Heyns, 1993 (additional source)
Eudorylaimus pseudocarteri Loof, 1975 (additional source)
Eudorylaimus quintus Andrássy, 2008 (additional source)
Eudorylaimus sabulophilus Tjepkema, Ferris & Ferris, 1971 (additional source)
Eudorylaimus sextus Andrássy, 2008 (additional source)
Eudorylaimus shirasei Kito, Shishida & Ohyama, 1996 (additional source)
Eudorylaimus spaulli Loof, 1975 (additional source)
Eudorylaimus verrucosus Loof, 1975 (additional source)
Eumonhystera vulgaris (de Man, 1880) Andrássy, 1981 (additional source)
Eutobrilus antarcticus Tsalolikhin, 1981 (additional source)
Geomonhystera antarcticola Andrássy, 1998 (additional source)
Geomonhystera villosa (Bütschli, 1873) Andrássy, 1981 (additional source)
Helicotylenchus digonicus Perry in Perry, Darling & Thorne, 1959 (additional source)
Helicotylenchus dihystera (Cobb, 1893) Sher, 1966 (additional source)
Helicotylenchus exallus Sher, 1966 (additional source)
Hypodontolaimus antarcticus Andrássy & Gibson, 2006 (additional source)
Laimaphelenchus helicosoma (Maslen, 1979) Peneva & Chipev, 1999 (additional source)
Mesodorylaimus antarcticus Nedelchev & Peneva, 2000 (additional source)
Mesodorylaimus chipevi Nedelchev & Peneva, 2000 (additional source)
Mesodorylaimus imperator Loof, 1975 (additional source)
Mesodorylaimus masleni Nedelchev & Peneva, 2000 (additional source)
Panagrolaimus davidi Timm, 1971 (additional source)
Panagrolaimus magnivulvatus Boström, 1995 (additional source)
Paramphidelus antarcticus Tsalolikhin, 1989 (additional source)
Pararhyssocolpus paradoxus (Loof, 1975) Elshishka, Lazarova, Radoslavov, Hristov & Peneva, 2015 (additional source)
Paratylenchus nanus Cobb, 1923 (additional source)
Plectus acuminatus Bastian, 1865 (additional source)
Plectus antarcticus de Man, 1904 (additional source)
Plectus armatus Bütschli, 1873 (additional source)
Plectus belgicae de Man, 1904 (additional source)
Plectus cirratus Bastian, 1865 (additional source)
Plectus frigophilus Kirjanova, 1958 (additional source)
Plectus globilabiatus Kirjanova, 1958 (additional source)
Plectus insolens Andrássy, 1998 (additional source)
Plectus meridianus Andrássy, 1998 (additional source)
Plectus murrayi Yeates, 1970 (additional source)
Plectus parietinus Bastian, 1865 (additional source)
Plectus parvus Bastian, 1865 (additional source)
Plectus telekii Mulk & Coomans, 1978 accepted as Chiloplectus andrassyi (Timm, 1971) Andrássy, 1984 (additional source)
Plectus tolerans Andrássy, 1998 (additional source)
Pratylenchus andinus Lordello, Zamith & Boock, 1961 (additional source)
Rhabditis krylovi Tsalolikhin, 1989 (additional source)
Rotylenchus capensis Van den Berg & Heyns, 1974 (additional source)
Scottnema lindsayae Timm, 1971 (additional source)
Teratocephalus pseudolirellus Maslen, 1979 (additional source)
Teratocephalus rugosus Maslen, 1979 (additional source)
Teratocephalus tilbrooki Maslen, 1979 (additional source)
Tylenchorhynchus maximus Allen, 1955 (additional source)

This service is powered by LifeWatch Belgium
Learn more»
Web interface and database structure initially created by Tim Deprez; now hosted and maintained by VLIZ
Page generated 2024-05-26 · contact: Tânia Nara Bezerra or